Hesketh Crescent was commissioned by Sir Lawrence Palk, the Fourth Baronet who was elevated to a peerage in 1880 and became ‘Lord Haldon, of Haldon, Devon’ and after whom Haldon Pier and Haldon Road were named.
The crescent was designed by the brothers William and John Harvey and was completed in 1848, taking two years to construct. It has been reported as being ‘The finest crescent of houses in the west of England’ and John Wilson wrote “The Regency ideals of London and Brighton reached their highest in the building of Hesketh Crescent.”
The crescent originally called ‘Meadfoot Crescent’ was renamed ‘Hesketh Crescent’ in 1849 after the first fruit of Sir Lawrence’s marriage to Maria Hesketh in 1845; their first son was called Sir Lawrence Hesketh Palk.
The Palk family had been notable landowners in and around Torquay for generations and produced the first town plan for Torquay.
The family fortunes were largely made by the first Baronet, Sir Robert Palk, who became Governor of Madras in 1763, and after whom were named Palk Straights, the Palonua Range and Palk Bay. It was he who bought Manor of Torwood from the Earl of Donegal and the fishing village of Tor Key in 1768. He was the friend, protégé and colleague of General Lawrence on whose death he inherited £80,000 in 1775. The General requested that his own name ‘Lawrence’ should be passed on to Sir Robert’s first son and those of succeeding generations.
Why not pop along and look at the spleandour of our stunning building and find out more about taking a holiday with us?